How is Costa Rica divided?

How is Costa Rica divided?

Costa Rica is constitutionally divided into 7 provinces, which are further divided into 82 cantons, and those into 473 districts. Looking at the largest division, the provinces, each of the seven has their own identity, such that the food, traditions, and way of life are slightly different everywhere you go.

Which provinces are on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica?

Costa Rica’s Pacific coast is the most extensive, and is characterized by a rugged though mostly accessible coastline where forested mountains often meet the sea. It can be divided into four regions: Guanacaste, the Nicoya Peninsula, the Central Coast, and the Southern Coast.

What is the providence of Costa Rica?

Costa Rica’s almost 20,000 square miles are divided into seven provinces: San Jose, Heredia, Alajuela, Cartago, Puntarenas, Guanacaste and Limon. All provincial capital cities, with the exception of Guanacaste’s Liberia, share the same name as their province.

What is the best province in Costa Rica?

7 Most Beautiful Provinces in Costa Rica

  • Alajuela.
  • Cartago.
  • Guanacaste.
  • Heredia.
  • Limón.
  • Puntarenas.
  • San José

What is the language of Costa Rica?

Costa Rica/Official languages

Spanish in Costa Rica is spoken with a distinctive national accent and employs peculiar usages. Costa Ricans replace the diminutive ending -tito with -tico (hence their nickname), a practice known elsewhere but uncommon in Central America.

Which side of Costa Rica is best?

Most travelers visiting Costa Rica think the Pacific side of the country is the better coast to visit. The remote Osa Peninsula, the monkey-filled area of Manuel Antonio, the surfing near Santa Theres, and the touristy Nicoya coast make it the superior choice.

What is the capital of Costa Rica known for?

San José
San José developed slowly as a tobacco centre in the Spanish colonial era. In 1823 the national capital was transferred there from nearby Cartago. In the 1840s the town became one of the important centres of coffee production, which remained the chief source of Costa Rica’s income throughout the 19th century.

How many provinces are there in Costa Rica?

Last updated: Jun 14, 2015. Costa Rica’s almost 20,000 square miles are divided into seven provinces: San Jose, Heredia, Alajuela, Cartago, Puntarenas, Guanacaste and Limon.

Which is the most famous Province in Costa Rica?

Traveling out into the surrounding mountains, the province boasts several natural wonders, including Irazu Volcano, Turrialba Volcano, and Chirripo National Park. Alajuela, bordering San Jose’s western limits, is a diverse and dynamic province.

How are the political divisions of Costa Rica classified?

According to Article 168 of the Constitution of Costa Rica, the political divisions are officially classified into 3 tiers of sub-national entities. The Constitution of Costa Rica states, “For Public Administration purposes, the national territory is divided into provinces, these into cantons and cantons into districts.”

Where is the Pacific coast of Costa Rica?

Puntarenas — Covers most of the Pacific coast and its lowlands, from near the most western parts of Costa Rica (due west of San Jose,) down to the Panamanian border (actually southeast of San Jose) including the Manuel Antonio national park. Limon — The Caribbean east coast of the country.