Is PC 484 a wobbler?
This offense is a “wobbler” that can be charged as either a felony or misdemeanor. If charged as a felony, the maximum sentence is three years in prison.
What is a 488 PC?
Penal Code 488 PC is the California statute that makes it a crime for a person to steal someone’s property or services worth $950 or less. Penal Code 487 sets forth the law on grand theft, or the theft of property worth more than $950.
What is the penalty for petty theft in California?
For first-time offenders, petty theft is a misdemeanor crime, which carries a sentence of up to six months in a county, a $1,000 fine, restitution for the amount stolen, and/or probation. If the defendant stole less than $50 worth of property, then he or she may only be charged with an infraction.
How much money do you have to steal to go to jail?
The stolen property’s value is often what determines if the crime is a felony or misdemeanor. In order to be a felony theft, the value of the property must exceed a minimum amount established by state law, typically between $500 and $1,000.
Can you go to jail for stealing money from someone?
The offence of stealing from a person in New South Wales Stealing from a person is an offence under section 94 of the Crimes Act 1900 which carries a maximum penalty of 14 years in prison if referred to a higher court such as the District Court, or 2 years if the case remains in the Local Court.
How much money can you steal?
California law defines petty theft as the theft of any property with a value of $950 or less. Most petty thefts are charged as misdemeanors, which carry a sentence of up to six months in county jail, a fine of no more than $1,000, or both.
What happens if you steal?
What Can Happen if You Steal? She may have to give money to pay for the pen and the police could be called because stealing (including shoplifting) is a crime. She could be arrested, especially if she has stolen before, and that could lead to more problems.
Is Penal Code 475A considered an aggravated felony?
475a is not an aggravated felony for purposes of immigration and naturalization because the maximum punishment for it is located in section 473: Forgery is punishable by imprisonment in the state prison, or. by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one year. If a felony has no more then one year maximum of prison time associated with it, it is generally not considered an aggravated felony.
What is penal code 417 A1?
California Penal Code Section 417. (a) (1) Every person who, except in self-defense, in the presence of any other person, draws or exhibits any deadly weapon whatsoever, other than a firearm, in a rude, angry, or threatening manner, or who in any manner, unlawfully uses a deadly weapon other than a firearm in any fight or quarrel is guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by imprisonment in a county jail for not less than 30 days.
What is California Penal Code for petty theft?
Petty theft is prosecuted under California Penal Code Sections 484 & 488. Penal Code Section 484 is a general theft heading and includes many degrees and specific theft sections. Petty theft, such as shoplifting, (Penal Code section 488) is one of the lesser degrees of theft.
What does Penal Code PC 459 mean?
In Penal Code 459 PC, California law defines burglary as the act of entering any commercial or residential structure or locked vehicle with the intent to commit grand theft, petty theft or any felony. Burglary of a commercial structure and auto burglary are punishable by up to 3 years in jail.