Who is the commissioner of African Union?

Who is the commissioner of African Union?

Moussa Faki Mahamat
Moussa Faki Mahamat, born on 21 June 1960, was elected as the African Union Commission (AUC) Chairperson on 30 January 2017 and assumed office in March 2017.

Where is the headquarters of AU?

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
African Union/Headquarters
The African Union (AU) replaced the Organization of African Unity (OAU). The AU’s headquarters are in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Who was the first female head of the African Union Commission?

Moussa Faki re-elected as Chairperson and Dr. Monique Nsanzabaganwa elected as 1st female Deputy Chairperson of the AU Commission | African Union.

Who is the current Chairman of African Union Commission?

The current Chairperson of the African Union is H.E. President Felix-Antoine Tshisekedi of Democratic Republic of Congo.

Who is the current secretary general of African Union 2020?

The Chairperson of the African Union Commission is the head of the African Union Commission….List.

Chairperson Moussa Faki
Took Office 14 March 2017
Left Office Incumbent
Country Chad
Region Central Africa

Who is the current Chairperson of African Union Commission?

The current chairperson of the African Union Commission is Mr. Moussa Faki Mahamat.

What is the difference between AU and AUC?

The African Union Commission (AUC) is the AU’s secretariat and undertakes the day to day activities of the Union. It is based in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. Its functions, include: Representing the AU and defending its interests under the guidance of and as mandated by the Assembly and the Executive Council.

Who was the first chairman of African Union?

Thabo Mbeki
The African Union was launched in Durban on 9 July 2002, by its first chairperson, South African Thabo Mbeki, at the first session of the Assembly of the African Union.

Who was the first Chairperson of African Union?

Haile Selassie I

# Chairperson Took Office
1 Haile Selassie I 25 May 1963
2 Gamal Abdel Nasser 17 July 1964
3 Kwame Nkrumah 21 October 1965
4 Joseph Arthur Ankrah 24 February 1966

Who was the first chairman of the commission?

List of Finance Commissions

Finance Commission Year of establishment Chairman
First 1951 K. C. Neogy
Second 1956 K. Santhanam
Third 1960 A. K. Chanda
Fourth 1964 P. V. Rajamannar

Where is Pan African Parliament?

The Parliament sits in Midrand, South Africa. The AU Assembly adopted the Protocol to the Constitutive Act of the African Union Relating to the Pan-African Parliament during its June 2014 Summit (Assembly/AU/Dec. 529(XXIII)).

What does AUC stand for?


Acronym Definition
AUC American University in Cairo
AUC Autodefensas Unidas de Colombia (United Self-Defense Forces of Colombia)
AUC Analytical Ultracentrifugation
AUC African Union Commission

Who is the Deputy Chairperson of the African Union?

H.E. Dr. Monique Nsanzabaganwa H.E. Dr. Monique Nsanzabaganwa is the Deputy Chairperson (DCP) for the African Union Commission. She is in charge of Administration and Finance and assists the Chairperson in the execution of his functions to ensure the smooth running of the Commission, and acts as the Chairperson in his absence.

Who is the Deputy Chairperson of the AUC?

AUC Deputy Chairperson. The African Union is committed to Strengthening a people centered Union through active communication of the programmes of the African Union, the branding of the Union and participation of Member States and other stakeholders in defining and implementing the African agenda.

Why are there two men on African Union Commission?

There is talk that South Africa’s nomination of two men for the deputy chairperson position indicates that it wants to see Mahamat out, as new rules for the election of a reformed AU Commission stipulate that if the deputy chairperson is male, the chairperson should be female, and vice versa.

How is the Deputy Chairperson of the commission elected?

The Deputy Chairperson is elected by the Assembly for a four-year term, renewable once. Election is by secret ballot and a two-thirds majority of Member States eligible to vote. The Deputy must not be from the same region as the Chairperson of the Commission.