What is 3rd level dressage?

What is 3rd level dressage?

Third level dressage adds the half pass and flying lead change elements to its tests. This level is used to determine the horse’s ability to perform the medium and extended paces required at second level. The transition to and from collected gaits is equally important at third level.

What is a Level 2 dressage show?

a show’s level determines which opportunity classes may be held. a Level 1 competition may offer two tests per level at training through Second Levels. a Level 2 competi- tion may offer two tests per level per day at training and First Levels. a Level 3 competition may offer two tests per day at training Level.

What are the different levels of dressage?

In national dressage competitions in the US, there are five basic levels of dressage tests: Training, First, Second, Third, and Fourth. These are also referred to as Preliminary/Introductory, Novice, Elementary, Medium, and Advanced.

What is a first level dressage test?

First Level Dressage continues to develop the horse’s suppleness by adding lengthening of stride, 15m circles, single loops and leg yielding. They also contain leg yielding, single loops, lead changes through trot and smaller circles demonstrate the horse’s balance and reponsiveness. …

What is the highest dressage level?

Grand Prix level
The highest level of modern competition is at the Grand Prix level. This is the level test ridden in the prestigious international competitions (CDIs), such as the Olympic games, Dressage World Cup, and World Equestrian Games.

What is a piaffe in dressage?

Piaffe is a highly collected, cadenced, elevated diagonal movement giving the impression of remaining in place. The horse’s back is supple and elastic. The hindquarters are lowered; the haunches with active hocks are well engaged, giving great freedom, lightness and mobility to the shoulders and forehand.

What is required for first level dressage?

First Level: The three tests of First Level include walk, trot and canter on smaller circles, half-circles, and figure eights. They also contain leg yielding, lengthened strides in the trot and canter, and lead changes through trot to demonstrate the horse’s balance and responsiveness in a more uphill frame.