What is the posterior most tarsal bone?

What is the posterior most tarsal bone?

Calcaneus bone
1. Calcaneus bone: The largest tarsal bone that projects posteriorly as the heel. The calcaneal tuberosity on the plantar surface can be felt under the skin.

What is the intermediate tarsal bone?

Intermediate Group (Midfoot) The intermediate row of tarsal bones contains one bone, the navicular (given its name because it is shaped like a boat). Positioned medially, it articulates with the talus posteriorly, all three cuneiform bones anteriorly, and the cuboid bone laterally.

Which tarsal bone is weight-bearing?

The talus (astragalus) articulates above with the bones of the lower leg to form the ankle joint. The other six tarsals, tightly bound together by ligaments below the talus, function as a strong weight-bearing platform. The calcaneus, or heel bone, is the largest tarsal and forms the prominence at the back of the foot.

How can I remember the tarsal bones?


  1. T: talus.
  2. C: calcaneus.
  3. N: navicular.
  4. M: medial cuneiform.
  5. I: intermediate cuneiform.
  6. L: lateral cuneiform.
  7. C: cuboid.

What is the strongest tarsal bone?

Calcaneus. The calcaneus is often referred to as the heel bone and is the largest and strongest bone of the foot. The weight of the body passes through the tibia, into the talus and then to the calcaneus.

What are the 4 types of arches in the foot?

The longitudinal arches of the foot can be divided into medial and lateral arches.

  • Medial arch.
  • Lateral arch.
  • Fundamental longitudinal arch.

What tarsal bone is the most superior?

Talus. Talus (Latin for ankle) talus is the most superior bone of the tarsus and rests on top of the calcaneus. Three areas of articulation form the ankle joint: The superomedial aspect of the talus articulates with the medial malleolus of the tibia.

What is the difference between tarsus and tarsal?

The tarsal bones are located in the midfoot and the rearfoot (also called hindfoot) areas of the human foot. These bones are also known as the tarsus collectively. There are seven bones within the tarsal bones group: Talus (ankle bone)

What is the hardest bone in your foot?

What are the 7 tarsal bones?

The tarsal bones are 7 in number. They are named the calcaneus, talus, cuboid, navicular, and the medial, middle, and lateral cuneiforms.

Where is the cranial bone located?

What are cranial bones? Your skull provides structure to your head and face while also protecting your brain. The bones in your skull can be divided into the cranial bones, which form your cranium, and facial bones, which make up your face.

Which foot bone is horizontal?

The joint between the tibia and fibula above and the tarsus below is referred to as the ankle joint. In humans the largest bone in the tarsus is the calcaneus, which is the weight-bearing bone within the heel of the foot….Tarsus (skeleton)

TA2 1447
FMA 24491
Anatomical terms of bone